DHA “Dark Side” link to increased prostate cancer risk


Dark side of the moon

While most of the news about Omega-3 is positive, a while ago I noticed a negative article – “Omega-3s are good for the heart, but not the prostate” (Globe & Mail, April 29, 2011). The article reports the results of a study out of Seattle involving 19,000 men over the age of 55. While the main aim of the study was to assess the drug finasteride (Proscar) and its effect on prostate cancer, the study also took regular blood tests from the participants. The analysis revealed that the men with the highest levels of DHA were 2.5 times more likely to develop aggressive prostate cancer. Surprisingly, the risk was 50% lower in men with high levels of (unhealthy) trans fat.

The study was published in the American Journal of Epidemiology. The article suggests that because the risk of dying from heart disease is very much higher than aggressive prostate cancer, a focus on increasing Omega-3 intake is still sensible. Heart disease is one of the leading causes of death in Canadian men, accounting for 22% of deaths annually.

As a further comment, it is very difficult to draw a meaningful conclusion from the results of this study without also knowing the EPA to DHA ratio in the blood samples (or ALA to DHA for that matter). The link below to the article in “marksdailyapple.com” raises further issues with the results of the study.  As a further note, a later Globe & Mail article (see link below) suggests that finasteride itself may raise the risk of aggressive prostate cancer, and thus there may be an increased risk due to an interaction between finasteride and high DHA levels as well. However, the study does suggest that, while DHA is an essential fatty acid, an imbalance of too much DHA may lead to other health problems.

8 responses to “DHA “Dark Side” link to increased prostate cancer risk

  1. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as
    though you relied on the video to make your
    point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why
    waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your blog when you
    could be giving us something enlightening to read?

  2. Useful information. Fortunate me I found your web site by
    accident, and I’m stunned why this coincidence did not happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

  3. Having read this I thought it was very informative.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this
    short article together. I once again find myself personally
    spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

  4. After checking out a few of the blog posts on your website,
    I honestly like your way of writing a blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark website
    list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my website as well and let me know how you feel.

  5. Howdy I am so delighted I found your blog page, I really found you by
    mistake, while I was searching on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a remarkable post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome job.

  6. Great information. Lucky me I came across your website by accident (stumbleupon).
    I have bookmarked it for later!

  7. Having read this I believed it was really informative.

    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this article together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and
    leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  8. Hi my friend! I wish to say that this post is amazing, nice written and
    come with approximately all important infos.
    I’d like to look extra posts like this .

Leave a Reply

